MusiCounts Celebrates 2018 Scholarship Recipients

From September 24 – 28, MusiCounts hosted the 2018 recipients of the MusiCounts Scholarship presented by The RBC Foundation in Toronto. Launched this year, the MusiCounts Scholarship recognizes post-secondary students who demonstrate excellence, display a commitment to music in their community and show a consistently high level of achievement in their careers to date. The six recipients from across Canada were treated to tours of SiriusXM studios, iconic venue Roy Thomson Hall, Roland Canada, record label Dine Alone Records, plus info sessions at eOne Music, Coalition Music and Spotify and several music industry workshops.

“The goal of the MusiCounts Scholarship is to help launch the careers of these amazing students,” said Kristy Fletcher, Executive Director, MusiCounts. “With the support of the RBC Foundation we were excited to give recipients access to music industry leaders and a week of networking opportunities. Thank you to everyone who lent their time and expertise to the MusiCounts Scholarship experience.”

In addition to a $4,000 financial award, the recipients were flown to Toronto for a five-day mentoring and networking experience to help establish their careers in music. The students had the chance to attend multiple networking events with notable music mentors including, Allan Reid, President & CEO, CARAS, JUNO Award-winning recording engineer John ‘Beetle’ Bailey, Nathan Wiszniak, Head of Canada, Artist and Label Marketing, Spotify, Jennifer Hyland, Sr. Manager of Music Licensing / TV & Film Sync, Universal Music Canada, Samantha Pickard, President, Strut Entertainment and many more.

The 2018 MusiCounts Scholarship recipients presented by The RBC Foundation are:

Jenna Bjornson, Fanshawe College – Ottawa, ON
Agneya Chikte, Humber College – Toronto, ON
Kassia Edwards, Nimbus School of Recording and Media – Vancouver, BC
Julien Henry-Leblanc, Musitechnic – Montreal, QC
Sergei Kofman, Wilfred Laurier University – Toronto, ON
Jack Thomas, Nimbus School of Recording and Media – Vancouver, BC

To learn more about the recipients click here.

Photos From the MusiCounts Scholarship Award Presentation & Network Event At Dine Alone Records (photo credit Trish Cassling):

MusiCounts Would Like To Thank The Companies & Industry Leaders Who Supported the MusiCounts Scholarship Including:

The RBC Foundation

Aeroplan’s Miles Donation Program
Coalition Music/ Canada’s Music Incubator
eOne Music
Dine Alone Records
The JUNO Awards
Noble Street Studios
Revolution Recording
Roland Canada
Roy Thomson Hall
Sirius XM Canada
Spotify Canada
Strut Entertainment

Vanessa Arscott
Kelsey Assad
John “Beetle” Bailey
Kate Buote
Joel Carriere
Kim Cooke
Jocelyn Flanagan
Jennifer Hyland
Jeff Leake
Elyssa Macri
Kyle Martin
Stephen McGrath
Jesse Mitchell
Deirdre Molloy
Chris Moncada
Catherine Moore
Vel Omazic
Samantha Pickard
Tricia Ricciuto
Allan Reid
Andrew Roach
Danielle Sanford
Vanessa Smith
Anne Stirk
Nathan Wiszniak