Teacher of the Year



The MusiCounts Teacher of the Year Award recognizes the incredible, dedicated and hard-working music teachers in Canada who help keep music alive for so many young Canadians. Each year, the award is sponsored or presented by an artist, including: The Rolling Stones, Michael Bublé, Céline Dion, Shania Twain, Tragically Hip, Anne Murray, Billy Talent, Johnny Reid, Gord Bamford, and MAGIC!. This year’s award is presented by Blue Rodeo.

The recipient receives a $10,000 cheque, a significant contribution to the recipient’s school music program, an all expense paid trip to the annual JUNO Awards, and spectacular solid crystal statuette based on the JUNO Award design created by Canadian glass artist, the late Shirley Elford.

Nominations for the 2017 MusiCounts Teacher of the Year are open until December 9, 2016 at 5pm EST.  Nominations are open to previous Band Aid Program Recipient Schools. For full criteria please go here.



MusiCounts Teacher of the Year Recipients

2015-2016: Don Bossé sponsored by RUSH
2014-2015: Steve Sainas sponsored by MAGIC! 
2013-2014: Jeff Kula sponsored by Gord Bamford
2012-2013: Mark Reid presented by Shania Twain
2011-2012: Hugh Johnston sponsored by Johnny Reid
2010-2011: Marian Cheney sponsored by Billy Talent
2009-2010: Scott Leonard sponsored by Anne Murray
2008-2009: Alex Voros sponsored by Tragically Hip
2007-2008: Bernard Hébert sponsored by Céline Dion
2006-2007: Anne Turner sponsored by Michael Bublé
2005-2006: Norman McIntosh sponsored by The Rolling Stones


Sign-up for MusiCounts E-News


© 2016 The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS)